The Best Hair Loss Shampoo Reviews 2017


Best Hair Loss Shampoo Reviews of 2017

Losing your hair is hard, but finding the best hairloss shampoo to minimize the loss shouldn’t be.  With so many shampoos for anti-hair loss saturating the market it can feel daunting trying to find the right one to use.

How do you know what really works?

What if the one you order smells awful?

Where do you even begin to look?

Right here is a great place to start!

Our experts have combed through hours and hours of product reviews and scientific research papers, so you don’t have to. Here are our top ten picks for the best hair loss shampoos on the market for men and women in 2017.

As a bonus, all of these shampoos are available online, so you don’t even have to leave the comfort and privacy of your own home to purchase them.

Calily Life Organic Hair Growth and Anti Hair Loss Shampoo

 

Our top choice for an anti-hair loss shampoo is: Calily Life Organic Hair Growth and Anti Hair Loss Shampoo.  Not only does this shampoo smell great and have amazing user reviews, but it also achieves all this without the use of harsh chemicals.

Suitable for men and women, it’s a powerful caffeine enriched hair recovery and regrowth shampoo, specially formulated with organic extracts and nutrients to effectively fight hair loss and enhance overall hair health.

The Calily Life Company was formed by a group of naturalists with a strong belief in the importance of using only 100% pure therapeutic grade essential oils. They source only the purest ingredients and combine them safely without the use of hazardous chemicals. The key ingredients in Calily Life Organic Hair Growth and Anti Hair Loss Shampoo are caffeine, Argan Oil, Aloe vera, biotin, and vitamins B5 and B7. These ingredients help combat dry, coarse and damaged hair by infusing it with hydration and moisture.

Calily Life Organic Hair Growth and Anti Hair Loss Shampoo also contains natural DHT blockers and visibly amplifies and restores the hair strands to be stronger, thicker and healthier. Additionally, the shampoo is organic, paraben free, sulfate free, FDA compliant, hypoallergenic, safe for sensitive skin and perfect for all hair types.

Sounds too good to be true?   It’s not.

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“This shampoo is great. It smells amazing! I got it for my fiancé, because he is always talking about how he hates his receding hairline. After smelling it I had to try it out as well. It is a very thick liquid, kind of jelly like. My fiancé has been using it for about a week and his hair is already looking fuller.” – Mary on May 17, 2017.

 

Botanical Green Care’s Cayenne & Saw Palmetto Hair Growth Shampoo

With over seventeen years of experience in the organic cosmetics industry, Botanical Green Care produces some of the best organic, natural, cruelty-free, biodynamic and wild-harvested cosmetology products in the world.

Its unique Cayenne & Saw Palmetto Hair Growth Shampoo is no exception.  It is completely free of artificial colors and fragrances, synthetic chemical preservatives and all other harsh chemicals.

This sulfate free and wonderfully smelling shampoo uses a powerful proprietary and clinically proven blend of broad-spectrum advanced DHT blockers (natural hair growth stimulators), omega-3 oils, fatty acids, vitamins, and proteins.

The active ingredients in Botanical Green Care’s Cayenne & Saw Palmetto Hair Growth Shampoo are cayenne (which increases blood circulation throughout the scalp to deliver more essential nutrients to the hair follicles), saw palmetto (to block an enzyme which facilitates the change of testosterone into DHT) and B7 Biotin (an important hair growth vitamin).

Botanical Green Care is so proud and confident in their products they offer a money back, satisfaction guarantee.  If the rave reviews on Amazon are any indication, though, they don’t need to return the money often.

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“I think the formula of this shampoo is truly amazing. It’s nothing like any other shampoo I have ever used, and that is what makes it actually work and deliver real results. This shampoo was a lifesaver for me. Once the hair loss started I got really concerned and knew I had to take action. Doctor told me my diagnosis: Alopecia areata. I tried many different remedies, but nothing really worked. I gave this shampoo a try, and it worked so well with my hair! Thank you!” – Patrick Brown on May 28, 2017.

 

Re:build Biotin Growth-Support Volumizing Shampoo by Paisle Botanics

 

We love Re:build Biotin Growth-Support Volumizing Shampoo by Paisle Botanics  not only for its price and rave customer reviews, but also because it’s cruelty-free (does not test on animals).

Using CP:BLOCK™ technology, this natural hair loss shampoo formula was scientifically formulated to reduce hair loss and promote hair growth.

Research shows, that male and female hair loss, shedding, and breakage are typically caused by inadequate hair nourishment, excess DHT or weakness of the hair strand.  Years were spent researching and developing the perfect blend of botanicals to naturally treat and rejuvenate your hair.

Some of the natural ingredients in Re:build Biotin Growth-Support Volumizing Shampoo by Paisle Botanics are biotin, Argan oil, keratin, caffeine, hemp seed oil, glycerin and rice protein. Things you will NOT find in this shampoo: formaldehyde, lye, parabens, sulfates, phosphates phthalates, SLS  or sodium chloride.

The makers of Re:build are so certain you’ll love it that they offer a 100% money back guarantee.

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“This shampoo has made a huge difference to my thin, weak hair. My hair has more volume and less shedding, in just a short while. Smells wonderful. Well worth the money.” – Esther C. on May 16, 2017

 

Simplifica Argan Oil Hair Loss Prevention Shampoo for Hair Growth

 

In 2016 Salon Naturals (a company known for creating hair care products that celebrate beauty without compromising safety and wellness) rebranded itself as Simplifica and took the rebranding opportunity to improve their existing hair care products.  They hit a homerun with their Simplifica Argan Oil Hair Loss Prevention Shampoo for Hair Growth.

This unique anti hair loss shampoo is made from Moroccan sourced Argan oil – a natural ingredient that is specially formulated to strengthen your hair. It reactivates dormant and dying hair follicles promoting hair growth and thickening thinning hair.

The Argan oil shampoo is made to gently cleanse the scalp and hair root by removing excess oil, dirt and dead cells.  It also promotes circulation without shedding or dehydrating hair.

Simplifica Argan Oil Hair Loss Prevention Shampoo for Hair Growth is gentle enough for daily use and contains an exclusive blend of premium oils and plant-based ingredients mixed to effectively and conveniently treat all types of hair.

Other ingredients are sunflower seed oil, sage, jojoba seed oil, rosemary and wheat germ oil.  As you can imagine by reading this list, the shampoo smells wonderful!

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“They [Simplifica] have a great selections of organic products, and I bought this for my friend who is starting to go bald and he mentioned that his hair is nice and full and healthy. Give it a try.” – Chris on January 9, 2017

 

 

What does the “63” in REKZE’s 63 Anti-Hair Loss Shampoo stand for?  It stands for over 63 unique ingredients that make REKZE’s shampoo one of the most powerful DHT blocker shampoos on the market. These ingredients include biotin, caffeine, taurine, cinnamon, limonene and others that have a stimulating and cleansing effect on the hair follicles, thus encouraging hair growth and making

REKZE 63 Anti-Hair Loss Shampoo

the hair less susceptible to breakage and falling.

REKZE Laboratories is a privately held boutique company. They take great pride in their use of a high technology innovation process to design powerful and unique products that are developed completely without sodium lauryl sulfate and sodium laureth sulfate, low-cost detergents linked to irritation and hair loss.

With a staff of dermatology experts, their mission is: “To fight alopecia that affects both men and women with the best hair growth shampoo, conditioner, serum thinning hair treatment and wipes, against hair-loss and not least by including in our line a unique and exclusive product worldwide.”

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“In love with this product! I have been using it a couple days, and it has been a great experience. The smell of the shampoo is amazing nothing like anything I have ever tried. I’m walking around, and I can still smell the smell of my hair, and it’s wonderful I’m obsessed. You would think that it does not smell good since it’s an anti-hair loss shampoo, but you’re wrong. It also left my hair extremely soft I usually use a conditioner, but this time I did not because of how soft it left it. If you’re looking for a great hair loss shampoo, then you found the perfect product.” – Nora on April 19, 2017

 

Lipogaine Big 3 Premium Hair Loss Prevention shampoo

Lipogaine’s “Big 3” shampoo uses a powerful blend of biotin, caffeine, Argan oil, castor oil and other natural ingredients help reduce shedding, increase volume and thicken hair. These key ingredients are known to help with hair growth. Biotin is an essential vitamin for skin and hair health (but most people don’t get enough of it in their diets).

The other ingredients, when bought separately can be costly and messy to use, but Lipogaine put all of the best ingredients together in an affordable shampoo that even offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee or your money back!

Lipogaine Big 3 Premium Hair Loss Prevention shampoo is gentle enough to be used daily.

While some users haven’t felt the need to use a conditioner while using Lipogaine, others felt it left their hair a bit dry when used daily. It washes out well and leaves behind a clean scalp without the residue you sometimes get in ordinary shampoos, and hair looks shiny, healthier, and in time, thicker.

An 8-oz bottle should last three months if used three times a week. In that time, results should be noticeable, being more volume/thickness with less hair coming out in the shower or on the hair brush.

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“I have been using this product as directed daily for 2 months and I have noticed a significantly less amount of hair loss after my showers. Also, I see new hair growth in the areas above my temples that were not growing back after having babies! Extremely happy with this product.” – Kathryn on May 29, 2017

 

Ultrax Labs Hair Surge Shampoo

 

What makes Ultrax Labs Hair Surge Shampoo stand out in a saturated anti-hair loss shampoo market?  Most likely the same thing that gets you pumped each morning:  caffeine. Ultrax Labs Hair Surge shampoo uses caffeine as a main ingredient in stimulating follicles for regrowth and preventing hair loss.

The company’s scientists combine the caffeine with Cocamidopropyl betaine, an ingredient found in coconut oil that is a natural way to strengthen hair.  Other ingredients include saw palmetto (to fight baldness and dandruff) and 0.2% ketoconazole (to combat fungus that can cause hair loss).

Although Ultrax Labs Hair Surge was the top-rated shampoo for hair regrowth stimulation in 2016, it is not a 5-star product and that is mainly because of the cost.  At $47.45 for 8 oz. it is one of the priciest non-prescription anti-hair loss shampoos on the market.

If you choose Ultrax Labs Hair Surge be aware that it also does not lather as well some shampoos because of ketoconazole and can be harsh on the scalp if used every day. To end on a positive note, though, Ultrax Labs Hair Surge is particularly effective for thick curly hair and has been shown to encourage growth around the hairline. The smell is also pleasant.

Here’s our favorite five star review:

“[I] didn’t want to believe the hype. But I broke down and wearily bought it for my husband. Years of wearing baseball caps left him with quickly thinning hair. He used for less than a week before I could already notice a difference. It was amazing!! His hair was coming in thicker and fuller so fast! Definitely a miracle product! p.s. The smell is absolutely delicious!” – Caitie on May 10, 2017

 

PhytoWorx Organic Hair Loss Shampoo

With a pretty blue bottle touting a waterfall and apples, PhytoWorx Organic Hair Loss Shampoo is the most visually attractive product on our list.  However, what’s inside the bottle is just as notable.

PhytoWorx is unique among anti-hair loss shampoos because it uses the power of plant stem cells to make hair grow.  The plant stem cells used work by delaying the aging process on the hair follicles (aging follicles are less likely to grow healthy hair).  With continued use, the plant stem cells will slow down cell deterioration.

This shampoo also has essential oils and other natural ingredients, including green tea extract, aloe vera, cucumber extract, pomegranate extract, ginger root extract, peppermint, eucalyptus, and rosemary. As you can imagine, with such healthy and natural ingredients PhytoWorx Organic Hair Loss Shampoo smells good enough to eat.

Due to all of its natural ingredients, PhytoWorx is a power player for those who may be suffering from a bad scalp due to over-coloring or other harsh chemical treatments. The results of PhytoWorx can be seen relatively quickly, with users reporting new hairs sprouting within about a week (but, of course, this will vary from person to person).

Unfortunately, there is one downside to PhytoWorx Organic Hair Loss Shampoo: price.  It is in the top expense tier when it comes to anti hair loss shampoos.  If money is not an issue for you, though, you’ll definitely want to give it a try.

Here’s our favorite five-star review:

“Wow!! I have washed my hair with this shampoo 4 times now since I received it, and already I have noticed a significantly less amount of hair falling out each wash! What’s most impressive is that the areas of my head that had thinning hair now look and feel fuller, healthier and less patchy! At first, the lack of foaming up from the shampoo was different, but the fragrance that it leaves is very pleasant, and hair feels soft and looks shiny when it dries! I also noticed that the elasticity of my hair when wet was less, suggesting that my hair was, in fact, a bit thicker and stronger!! All in all, the price of this shampoo is more than worth the amazing and gratifying results you will get!! I’m hooked, and am looking forward to seeing my results a month from now!!” – Armondo on November 24, 2016.

 

Maple Holistic’s Argan Oil Shampoo

 

Don’t let the inexpensive price of Maple Holistic’s Argan Oil Shampoo scare you into thinking it can’t possibly work.  This American made shampoo is powerful beyond its price!

Maple Holistics packs six amazing oils to combat hair loss in their cruelty and sulfate free shampoo.  First, there’s Argan oil to bring hair back to life, making it look thicker and improving the health of the scalp.  Then, there is avocado oil to give the scalp and hair much-needed nutrients in the form of vitamins A, B1, B2, D, and E.

There is also jojoba oil and peach kernel oil to soothe existing scalp conditions and encourage the scalp skin to maintain a healthy equilibrium. Shea, hibiscus and camellia oils help combat dandruff. Finally, there are added silk amino acids, green tea extracts, sea buckthorn, and almond oils that work to strengthen hair follicles, prevent breakage and fight split-ends.

If you suffer from greasy hair, don’t let all the oils in this shampoo put you off either. The oils will leave your hair with a healthy shine, but nothing too weighted or oily looking. Maple Holistics Argan Oil Shampoo works particularly well for frizzy hair (thanks to the pomegranate extract) and color-treated hair.  The shampoo comes with a 100% money-back guarantee.

Here’s our favorite 5 star review:

“I was having major troubles with my hair falling out. My hair is very thin to begin with so I was afraid that I was actually going bald! My hair stylist told me to find a good shampoo with Moroccan oil and to be sure that it was packed full of good stuff for my scalp and hair. We looked on the Internet and found Argan shampoo and I have never been happier. My hair is getting thicker and is so shiny. I am so happy that I don’t have to clean out the drain in the shower every day! I honestly was thinking that I would have to purchase a wig if things got any worse. Thank you for turning my life around and giving me my confidence back!” – James McFarlane on May 7, 2016

 

Pura D’or Anti-Hair Loss Shampoo (Gold Label)

 

While searching for the right anti-hair loss shampoo for you, don’t let Pura D’or’s Amazon rating (3.6 out of 5 stars) scare you away.  Much of those lower stars were due to issues with the shampoo’s bottle (problems with the pump), but those have been fixed!

The company’s new sleeker bottle silhouettes with dramatically improved pumps contain the same trusted, award-winning formula of 12 DHT blockers. This formula has been clinically tested and proven to prevent hair loss due to breakage using ingredients that have been certified organic by the USDA.

There are no sulfates, parabens, or harmful chemicals in Pura D’or Anti-Hair Loss Shampoo (Gold Label) and the added niacin, biotin, antioxidants and Argan Oil promote cell growth. Pura D’or shampoo has other added oils and vitamins that will nourish and fortify thinning strands from the roots to the ends (even on color-treated hair). Vitamin-B complex and tuber fleece flower extract are just two of these added ingredients that are known to help fortify hair follicles.

The organic ingredients make it gentle on the scalp and appropriate for everyday use. The scent is described as lightly spiced, not full of perfumes, making it attractive to males as well as females. This product is perfect for those who are starting to notice hair breakage or have been experiencing it for a short while.

Please note that it is not that effective in men who are in late stages of baldness or for large bald patches, but it is a fantastic buy for repairing hair and preventing it from any further damage.

Here’s our favorite 5 star Amazon review:

“I ordered this product to help my hair grow out after chemotherapy. I love it. My hair is coming in with some thin spots. But this shampoo is giving it a fullness that I can only hope will continue. I cannot tell if my hair would be different without this product. But I feel that with all the natural and organic ingredients, I am giving my hair the best possible shot at growing back healthy and strong. I appreciate also that it is not tested on animals.” – By Sulu Sell on June 20, 2015

 

BONUS: Best Anti-Hair Loss Shampoo Specifically for Men

Procerin Male Hair Loss Shampoo

American made Procerin Shampoo contains naturally derived ingredients to block DHT, promote a healthy scalp and revitalize hair follicles for hair regrowth.

For men only, this popular shampoo’s special formulation helps to reverse hair loss as it gently and naturally removes dihydrotestosterone (DHT) while blocking the formation of new DHT.

In addition to powerful natural DHT blockers, Procerin Shampoo is enriched with panthenol and olive leaf extract to repair, thicken and strengthen existing hair follicles while combating further hair loss.

Procerin is recommended for men only because it targets the causes of male pattern balding and thinning hair.

 

BONUS: Best Anti-Hair Loss Shampoo Specifically for Women

Women’s Rogaine Hair Loss and Thinning Treatment

 

Women’s Rogaine Hair Loss and Thinning Treatment is the first and only 5% Minoxidil (a medication used to treat baldness) foam treatment FDA-approved, especially for women.

Unlike some products which just temporarily coat thinning hair, Women’s Rogaine gets to the root of the problem, reactivating inactive follicles from the inside out to regrow hair.

More than 1 in 4 women will experience hereditary hair loss.  While female hair loss is continual, women’s Rogaine can be used at the earliest signs of hair thinning to regrow thicker, fuller hair.

Although a 2 oz. supply of Women’s Rogaine Hair Loss and Thinning Treatment doesn’t sound like much for $20.38 it is intended to last two months with once-daily use, and results are expected in as little as 12 weeks.  Continued use is necessary to increase and keep hair regrowth, or hair loss will begin again.  Using more or more often will not improve results.

Final Thoughts

It is important to remember that people react differently to products, so while a particular hair loss product may work brilliantly on one person, it will not necessarily have the same effect on another.

Our body chemistry differs, and the cause of hair loss can vary from one person to another. For some, it could be due to chemotherapy, for others genetics and for others just bad luck.  This is why it’s important to do your research and find a product that’s best suited to your needs and circumstances.

Before you make your final selection of an anti-hair loss shampoo keep these factors in mind:

Your Gender: The chemicals and ingredients in some hair loss shampoos can be harsh on longer hair, so many women may benefit from using an organic hair loss shampoo with natural ingredients.  Since men typically wear their hair shorter, they don’t have to be as concerned with this.

The cause of Hair Loss: Different ingredients in anti-hair loss shampoos are designed to address different aspects of hair loss. Some will provide antifungal properties, some will improve the condition of the hair, some will block DHT and treat other hormonal issues, and some will provide all of these benefits.

The cost of The Treatment: You should always go for a high-quality hair-loss shampoo with good reviews from other customers, as otherwise you will be wasting your money and could do more damage than good. Make sure you look at pricing so that you can stay within budget but also look at reviews and quality so that you get value for money rather than just a cheap product that may or may not work.  As you’ve seen on this list, some of the more inexpensive shampoos are actually rated higher than their pricey competitors.  Many also offer a money back guarantee which is a very smart option in case the one you choose isn’t the right fit for you.

In closing, all of these factors combined will make it easier for you to make an informed and personalized decision when choosing the right anti-hair loss shampoo for you. By choosing the right shampoo to deal with hair loss, you’ll benefit from healthier hair, a healthier scalp, and a happier face when you look in the mirror.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *